New Zealand Red Cross branches are members who meet regularly and work to support our mission in their local communities.

There are nearly 50 branches of New Zealand Red Cross around the country. Branches have a hands-on local-community focus, and are run by volunteers and supported by their area council. Any member can join their local branch.

Branches have a variety of roles, including:

  • promoting our Fundamental Principles
  • delivering services
  • maintaining a Red Cross presence in communities
  • fundraising, and
  • recruiting new members. 

There is a formal structure to branches and each has an elected president, secretary and treasurer. They can also have a membership coordinator and a communications coordinator. Branches hold an Annual General Meeting, they have an annual plan and budget, and can operate their own bank accounts to manage their activities. Branches need to have at least five members, or ten if they were formed after 1 March 2010.

Information for members

This website has handy information including the Members' Handbook, a link to the health and safety information online reporting system, our brand standards, and media policy. It also includes information for branch presidents on how to get an account to access the intranet. You can use the intranet to file branch documents and access information that is for area council chairs and branch presidents.

For detailed information about branches see, section 2.4 of the Member’s Handbook.

Tools and guidance for volunteers

To contact your local branch email and the team will put you in touch. 

North Island branches

Auckland – East Coast Bays Branch

Auckland – Waiheke Island Branch

Bay of Plenty – Katikati Branch

Bay of Plenty – Tauranga Branch

East Coast – Central Hawke's Bay Branch

East Coast – Napier Branch

Manawatū-Whanganui – Dannevirke Branch

Manawatū-Whanganui – Levin Branch

Manawatū-Whanganui – Palmerston North branch

Manawatū-Whanganui – Whanganui Branch

Northland – Kaitaia Branch

Northland – Kerikeri Branch

Northland – Whangārei Branch

Taranaki – Inglewood Branch

Taranaki – New Plymouth Branch

Waikato – Cambridge Branch

Waikato – Huntly Branch

Waikato – Putāruru Branch

Waikato – Taupō Branch

Waikato – Te Aroha Branch

Waikato – Waitoa Branch

Wellington – Upper Hutt Branch

Wellington – Wellington Branch

South Island branches

Canterbury Mid-South – Geraldine Branch

Canterbury Mid-South – Methven Branch

Canterbury Mid-South – Timaru Branch

Canterbury Mid-South – Waimate Branch

Canterbury North – Darfield Branch

Canterbury North – Hawarden Waikari Branch

Canterbury North – Kaiapoi Branch

Canterbury North – Kaikōura Branch

Canterbury North – Kaituna Branch

Canterbury North – Little Akaloa/Chorlton Branch

Otago – Balclutha Branch

Otago – Dunedin Branch

Otago – Waitahuna Branch

Southland – Gore Branch

Southland – Waikaia Branch

Tasman and Marlborough – Blenheim Branch

Tasman and Marlborough – Motueka Branch

Tasman and Marlborough – Nelson Branch

West Coast – Buller Branch

West Coast – Hokitika Branch