Pathways to Employment

Ngā kaupapa hunga whakarere

Finding employment is a key part of the settlement process. It gives former refugees financial independence and also offers them the opportunity to use their skills and contribute back to their community.

Pathways to Employment

Our Pathways to Employment programme helps former refugees plan their employment, education, training and career goals and ultimately find work. Our services include:

  • Helping to plan employment and career goals
  • Assessing skills, including English language skills
  • Referrals to English or vocational training opportunities
  • Assisting with the writing of CVs and cover letters
  • Helping make appointments and get interviews, as well as coaching on interview skills
  • Finding work trials and work experience
  • Encouraging employers to employ people from refugee backgrounds.

Our clients have a wide range of skills and experience. Former clients have found employment in an array of sectors, from engineering to hospitality.

Hear more from a Nelson business who has employed former refugees:

Pathways to Employment contacts around New Zealand

If you are a former refugee seeking employment or an employer who has an available position, please contact:

Auckland: John Rodgers, 09 262 0942 or john.rodgers@redcross.org.nz

Hamilton: Silvia Dancose, 07 849 0285 ext 3 or silvia.dancose@redcross.org.nz

Wellington: Judi McCallum, 04 805 0308 or judi.mccallum@redcross.org.nz

Palmerston North: Kevin Morris, 06 351 0793; 027 8072383 or kevin.morris@redcross.org.nz

Nelson: Claire Nichols, 03 922 7235 or claire.nichols@redcross.org.nz

Christchurch: Melanie Douglas, 03 339 3750 ext 3554 / 0274 036 058 or melanie.douglas@redcross.org.nz

Dunedin: Jarrah Cooke, 03 477 1527, Jarrah.Cooke@redcross.org.nz

Nationally:  Claire Speedy, 021 228 2061 or claire.speedy@redcross.org.nz

Download our Pathways to Employment brochures

Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Tamil (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Spanish (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Nepali (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Arabic (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Burmese (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - Dari (PDF)
Pathways to Employment Client Brochure - English (PDF)